Origin Notes and History:
Village of Mission incorporated 30 December 1922, effective 11 January 1923. Re-incorporated as the Village of Mission City per Order in Council, effective 24 January 1950. Mission City (Village) confirmed 3 May 1951 on 92 G. Re-incorporated as the Town of Mission City per Order in Council 22 November 1957, effective 1 January 1958. Amalgamation of the Town of Mission City and the adjacent District of Mission per Order in Council effective 1 November 1969, the newly incorporated municipality to be called District of Mission.
Source: BC place name cards, or correspondence to/from BC's Chief Geographer or BC Geographical Names Office
The Municipal Hall was built in 1929 through a joint project between the Corporation of the Village of Mission (later became the Town of Mission City) and the Corporation of the District of Mission. It was a unique building because on one half were the offices of the Village and on the other the District. It was extensively renovated and enlarged in 1954. After amalgamation in November of 1969, the offices of the present day local government were housed in this building until a new hall was opened on Stave Lake Road in 1974. The original municipal hall, at 33157 First Ave, now houses several restaurants. (November 2012 advice from Val Billesberger, Archivist, Mission Community Archives)
Source: included with note